Lazy Night Stir-Fry…or…Feed Me Quick!

LazyNightStir-Fry

I love to cook from scratch but sometimes quick and easy works well, too.

We’ve had a pretty lazy day around here today. Justin had to work for a couple hours this morning and then spent the day playing video games and watching movies (The Croods). Chloe played outside with friends. Gavin played video games and tried to avoid going outside. And as for me, I blogged, listened to music, and, well, drank coffee.

I knew when I got up this morning what kind of day it was going to be and planned my dinner accordingly. I had already intended to make a stir-fry, but how I threw it together changed drastically. Instead of slow-roasting chicken thighs in the oven and then tearing the meat away from the bones to be thrown in with a bunch of fresh veggies and a homemade sauce of some kind, I chose to pull the casings off a couple sausages and brown them in a pan with a mixture of fresh and frozen vegetables and a bottled sauce. Not perfect, but tasty and on the table for three hungry mouths (because you know, they’re ALWAYS STARVING) in less than 30 minutes. This is a great dinner for using up leftovers, and any meat you have on hand will do, or go vegetarian and leave out the meat altogether.

Lazy Night Stir-Fry

Ingredients:

  • 1 small package of medium Italian sausages (I used about 4 sausages, and feel free to use hot, if you wish)
  • 1 small package of button mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 large red bell peppers cut into strips
  • 1 bag frozen broccoli florets
  • 1 bottle of your favorite stir-fry sauce (I used Golden Dragon Thick Teriyaki)

Drizzle a little extra virgin olive oil in a large skillet. Remove sausage from casings, and brown on a medium-high heat. Lower heat to medium-low and add mushrooms and peppers; saute 10 minutes. Add broccoli. Cover and let simmer 10 minutes, stirring once or twice, until heated through. Pour in sauce and let simmer 5 minutes, or until heated through. Serve over rice.

Leave a comment