Moving Forward

A new year, but not necessarily a new beginning. Rather, a new chance to move forward from the things holding me back. Every time I consider a new beginning, I fail miserably because I put way too much pressure on myself to succeed. So I’m choosing to look at things a little differently this year.

But first, a review of 2014:

  • I quit my job at Wendy’s/Tim’s to go work at Walmart
    • When I applied at Walmart, I thought it was for a permanent overnight position, but was actually hired for a temporary overnight position
  • The kids both went to Summer camp for the first time and had a blast!
    • Chloe hurt herself TWICE at camp, the first time occurring on the first day!
  • We planned a party for Gavin’s birthday and no one showed up. 😦 Instead, I took him to see Guardians of the Galaxy at the theater.
  • I missed a lot of time at work due to a variety of illnesses, causing severe stress as this is not my usual work ethic
    • I developed Tennis Elbow, resulting in my being placed on sick leave
  • Unfortunately, we were forced to dismiss certain people from our lives due to their continued toxicity, but we were much better for it, in the end.
  • We made new friends this year.
    • I joined a group for moms to get together once a month to just chat and make new friends and really hit it off with one in particular. Kourtney and I have been hanging out a couple times a week, at least, for the last several week.
    • I’m excited to say that Justin gets along with Kourtney’s husband and the kids all get along with one another as well. Yay! There have been too many times when I have made a friend and Justin has not gotten along with them at all.
  • I taught myself to crochet again.
  • We spent Christmas day with Kourtney and her family. It was wonderful! I had really missed the large family gatherings for Christmas.
  • I babysat for Kourtney on New Year’s Eve. 6 kids, including Chloe! What a night!
    • Regrettably, we were all recovering from a horrible cold and most of us were up all night due to coughing. 😦

Not a bad year, overall, and some definite highlights.

As I said, I am not setting any actual resolutions for 2015, but I do have a couple of things I am hoping to accomplish.

Let’s call them goals:

  • Read 50 books.
  • Go back to school.
  • Lead a healthier lifestyle.
  • Spend more time with my family.
  • Become better organized.
  • Grow my relationships.

In order to reach these goals, I think I will set monthly mini goals.

So my goals for January are:

  • De-Christmas the house.
  • Research what I need to do to go back to school.
  • Read 4 books.
  • Start eating 3 meals a day, no more than 2 Tim Horton’s mochas a week, and go to the gym at least twice a week.
  • Clean out all my closets.
  • Finish Gavin & Chloe’s blankets.
  • Meet up with the girls.
  • Have family night once a week.
  • Spend afternoons with Justin when the kids are in school.

Here’s to a great start to a new year!

Always,

C.

Leave a Reply

