Operation Master Bedroom: Phase 1

OperationMBPhase1

As I’m sure I’ve mentioned, I have ADD. I was only diagnosed a couple of years ago but, boy, did a lot of things start to make sense on that day! Now, I don’t have the hyperactive sub-type. I have the lack-of-focus-and-neglect-to-pay-attention-to-what-needs-to-be-done-instead-of-doing-what-you-want sub-type. That doesn’t mean I can’t focus on ANYTHING. Quite the contrary. I can sit on the internet, read, play The Sims, write, watch TV/movies, and just about anything else I WANT to do for hours on end. It’s the stuff that I DON’T WANT TO DO that suffers. Like housework. I HATE housework and I will do just about anything to avoid it; sometimes without even being aware of it. I’ve been known to go days or weeks, even, letting things like the laundry just pile up.

I do get in moods where I actually DO want to clean. But then my OCD and anxiety kick in. The anxiety makes me feel overwhelmed and I can’t figure out where to start, so I don’t. My OCD means that everything has to be done PERFECTLY so, again, nothing gets completed because it takes forever to do one thing. On top of that, my ADD kicks in and I go from task to task ending up with multiple unfinished jobs. Ugh.

Where am I going with all this?

Now that I am home on sick leave, I am trying to take advantage of it and get some things organized so that it’s easier to stay on top of things. Easy peasey, right? Not so much…but I am determined to win. So today began Day One. I chose to tackle my bedroom because it was a D.I.S.A.S.T.E.R. So that I don’t get bored and give up halfway through, I am going to clean it in two phases: Phase one is the laundry all over the place, and Phase two is my desk.

Today I accomplished Phase One. I picked up all the laundry in my room, clean and dirty. I hung all of mine and Justin’s clean clothes in our closet, put the linens in the linen closet (to be tackled later this week!), put the kids’ clothes on their beds, and took the dirty laundry downstairs to be washed. Ta da! Phase One DONE!

Stay tuned for Phase Two.

Always,

C.

One thought on “Operation Master Bedroom: Phase 1

  1. Pingback: BabySteps Day 1 | Scrambled Brains & Coffee

Leave a Reply

