Writing 101, April 2015: Day 1

Prompt: Unlock the mind. Take twenty minutes to free write without thinking about what you’ll write. Just write.

Twist: Publish post on your blog.

As a woman with ADD, it is difficult for me to write randomly. As soon as I read today’s prompt, I started actively thinking about something to write. But then my initial thought became derailed and I thought about another topic, and another topic, and still another topic; until my brain was bouncing blogging topics around in my head like a bunch of ping pong balls.

This is my life.

I am sitting here and there are so many things I should be doing instead of writing this. I have a full to-do list that I haven’t even begun to scratch the surface of. I still have to do my floors, put away my clean clothes, wash my dirty clothes, make sure the kids are ready to go back to school tomorrow after a 4 day weekend, read for at least an hour, work on the blanket I am crocheting for my daughter; and the list goes on and on.

Game of Thrones returns next week and I am super excited. We’ve decided that we are going to watch last season’s final episode before starting the new season, just to catch up. I can’t wait to see what surprises the new season holds, being the TV junkie that I am.

Why must Justin raise his voice in annoyance almost every time he talks to the kids? Chloe jumped up to answer a knock at the door, and he was short as he implored her to return to their game of Mario Kart before she could head outside. How hard is it to just ask her nicely to return to the living room?

Tomorrow is a new day in my battle towards losing weight and living a healthier lifestyle. No more mochas for me! My goal for this week is to go to bed by 10 pm. I feel that I accomplish so much more when I am well rested, but Justin thinks that’s just an excuse. I can’t make him understand how wrong he is; but he’s not me.

I want to take a trip to the library this week. I have had a card for a couple of weeks now, but the weather keeps me away.

I can’t wait until Summer! I am so looking forward to finally hitting the beach this year. We haven’t been to any of the beaches here, yet. Kourtney says she spends her Summer alternating between her backyard and the beach and that I am now a part of that package. I can’t wait!

Blogging can be difficult for me, at times. I will get an idea but can’t quite figure out how to formulate it and then, by the time I do, the idea has gone or turned into something new altogether. I have so many blogs on the go that I have started and abandoned. I couldn’t even hazard a guess as to the actual number. I know some have been about Paganism, some about recipes, some about parenting, and some just simply about life. I wonder where they would be now, had I continued with them.

Music is my lifesaver. I listen to music regardless of the mood I am in and it always seems to fit the situation at hand by default. If I am sad, the tunes are melancholy. If I am happy, the music is a reflection of my internal bounciness. If I am angry, I can head-bang to my heart’s content to the raging sounds of metal and gangster rap. Not that I listen to much of that. But I can go back in time and set almost any memory in my life to music. I guess, in some ways, I have my own movie soundtrack. But don’t we all?

I’ve never been a video game fan. Justin and Gavin can play video games for HOURS without becoming bored, but I am bored within minutes. The only exception seems to be The Sims. But even with that, I think I love the idea of the game more than the game itself. I love downloading new content for my characters and creating new characters. I might play them for a little bit, but then I become bored and create someone new. The one aspect of The Sims that I haven’t been able to do yet is to create houses. I look at the houses others have created online and am envious. My brain just doesn’t seem to be able to translate the ideas I have in my head to the screen in front of me. I guess I’m not meant to be an architect.

It’s been over 3 years since I talked to my father. I miss him some days, but most days I miss the idea of him, I think. The vision I have in my head of who my father should be, who I wish he was, and the relationship I wish we shared. I gave up on him because I realized I was never going to have that and it was too hard on me to accept what I did have: someone who really doesn’t care and only talked to me out of a sense of obligation. Or at least, that’s the way it felt.

Our dish-washing detergent disperses a funny scent into the air in my home. My dishes have just finished running a cycle in the dishwasher and I can smell it wafting into the living room from the kitchen. It’s not entirely unpleasant, but it is not a nice smell, either. I wonder if other detergents might be a little more agreeable: But then, it’s difficult to choose something different because Justin’s olfactory gland is so sensitive and he strongly dislikes so many smells.

The phone just rang. I am only slightly curious as to who it might have been, but it’s not like we have many friends who call us and I am timing myself so I decided to ignore it. Oops.

The timer just went off and my first “assignment is complete.” I guess I will finish by completing the twist, as well, and post this to my blog.

I wonder what tomorrow’s prompt will be?

Blessings,

C.

9 thoughts on “Writing 101, April 2015: Day 1

    • I am, indeed. Unfortunately, like everything else I’ve tried, thus far, I only manage to stick to it for a couple of weeks at most before dropping it completely. It’s extremely frustrating. I am just lucky enough to have a very supportive and understanding family and that’s helps me a lot.

      Like

      • Did you notice that while she suggests that you add one thing per day, when she started she did one new thing per month! While some of her word choice makes me want to punch her (very hard in the face), I have to agree that she’s got some good ideas.
        I figure I’m doing well if I get the sink(ish) area clean every day which is only step one, and that doesn’t happen every day.
        I actually left her group when we moved (no kids, no running water or electricity and 152 square feet… don’t really need most of her stuff) but I use it at work all the time.

        Like

  1. I did. Don’t get me wrong, I still try. I just don’t consider that I’ve been very successful, yet. But I am my own worst critic, as are we all. Every day is a minute-by-minute endeavor if I expect to get anything done. My biggest problem is that, on top of ADD I have OCD and anxiety, so I also expect everything to be perfect and to be done all at once…lol. One thing at a time is difficult for me, but I’m getting better. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

