Writing 101, April 2015: Day 4

Prompt: Serially Lost. Write about a loss: something (or someone) that was part of your life, and isn’t any more.

Twist: Make today’s post the first in a three-post series.

This is fiction.

I remember that day. I sit quietly and smile softly as I let the memory take me where it will…

I was 17 and it was the Summer I finally finished High School. I felt elated and FREE! I would never have to return to that hell hole again. The hot sand had stretched on for miles while the sun beat down on me from the cerulean sky above. The salty ocean beside me gently lapped at the shore, moving closer and closer as the tide meandered in, preparing to again stake its claim.

I took a deep breath and started to jog down the beach. My auburn ponytail bounced back and forth as I gained a steady rhythm. Slightly out of breath, but still able to carry on a conversation if I had someone there to converse with, I could feel my body relaxing as I ran. All of the stresses of the last year just melted away.

I had done it. I had graduated top of my class and I would be going to Acadia U in the Fall.  I had earned a little bit of R&R, hadn’t I? This beach is where my grandmother lives in the Summer. I decided to spend my Summer here so I could unwind. The past year had been horrid. A virtual competition with myself to reach my goals. And I need this. I needed to just let go and worry about nothing for awhile. Because once Fall arrived, I would have to hit the books again.

I turned around, jogging in place, and realized I had gone further than I thought I had. I couldn’t see Gran’s house in the distance anymore. One of my feet felt oddly warm so I glanced down and was surprised to find that I had lost one of my favorite ice blue flip flops. Strange running footwear, I know, but the running had been spontaneous and I figured I’d be fine because I wasn’t going very fast. Giggling to myself for not noticing sooner, I turned around and started back in the direction I had come from. Keeping my eyes open for my errant flip flop, I spotted it in the sand, just a little ways back.

But it wasn’t alone.

…to be continued.

Blessings,

C.

3 thoughts on “Writing 101, April 2015: Day 4

  1. A nice start to this story – your writing flows well and I was picturing myself jogging along with the character (with sneakers on though)! You have definitely piqued my curiosity about what’s coming next. Looking forward to reading the next post and finding out 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

