Writing 101, April 2015: Day 5

Prompt: You stumble upon a random letter on the path. You read it. It affects you deeply, and you wish it could be returned to the person to which it’s addressed. Write a story about this encounter.

Twist: Approach this post in as few words as possible.

I stoop to pick up a glass bottle that I can see wedged in the dirt. A note’s inside.

Dearest May,

I will not be back.

You know why.

I hope you can forgive me some day.

Always,

Victor

Looking up, I can see old May Wallace’s house just at the end of the path where it becomes the road again. I walk to the house and leave the bottle in her mailbox, ringing her doorbell before turning away to slink behind a tree so I can watch without being seen.

The door behind me opens and May comes to the door. Glancing both ways, she sees nothing, but checks the mail as an afterthought. She pulls the old note out of the bottle and reads it, her hand flying to her throat.

“I forgive you, Victor.” She chokes out in a trembling voice, before going back inside.

Wiping a tear from my eye, I head home.

6 thoughts on “Writing 101, April 2015: Day 5

Leave a Reply

