BabySteps Day 1

ShinySinkApril202015

If you take a look at previous posts on my blog you know that I am always starting things. Starting. Rarely do I finish something. Laundry, housework, hobbies, & bucket lists are always in a state of flux.

As much as this frustrates me, and it does, I can’t seem to break myself out of it. The biggest reason for this, I believe, is that I get frustrated and then I try and change it all at once and just give up because I become so overwhelmed. Frustration turns to depression and I just leave it because I can’t be bothered anymore.

I guess you could say I’ve reached this point again.

Sort of.

This time, I am trying something different and completely outside of the box – I am not giving up. Instead I am going to take a stab at things from a different angle: Baby steps.

Several years ago while in one of my frequent ruts, I came across a website called FlyLady, a website to help one get control of domestic chaos one step at a time. Now, I have to admit, I tried this once, but didn’t get anywhere. Rather than following along with the 31 Beginners Baby Steps, I looked ahead and tried to do it all at once. Can you say another instant failure? I can!

So today is Day 1 (again) of the 31 Baby Steps, Shine Your Sink, and I’ve done it! Can you see my super shiny sink in the picture above?! I know you can, obviously; but I am just so excited that I did the first step.

Ok, I’ll stop now.

I’ve made a promise to myself that I am going to do this step by step this time. No peeking ahead, no complicating things; just taking things nice and slow.

I am going to use the blog to help keep me accountable and hopefully get help from some of my readers to keep me on track when I falter. But, for today, I am done and I am not going to think anymore about all  the things that still need to be finished.

In the famous words of Scarlett O’Hara, “I’ll think about that tomorrow.”

Blessings,

C.

One thought on “BabySteps Day 1

Leave a Reply

