Writing 101, April 2015: Day 7

Prompt: Write a post based on the contrast between two things — whether people, objects, emotions, places, or something else.

Twist: write your post in the form of a dialogue.

Alice opened the fridge and stood there, trying to decide what she wanted for her snack today. Hand on her hip, she thought to herself how you’re not supposed to leave the fridge door open while you think about what you want to eat. That’s what her mother had always told her while she was growing up, anyway.

Apple or orange, she thought. Which one would fulfill my hunger more?

“Pick me!” Said the orange. “I am juicy and sweet.”

“She’ll pick me,” countered the apple. “I, too, am juicy and sweet.”

“I am bright orange like the sun and will remind her of warm Summer days.”

“I am full of disease-fighting antioxidants and fibre; I will keep her fuller longer.”

“Science shows that eating me can fight liver, colon, and breast cancers.”

“Well, science says that my magnesium helps fight high blood pressure.”

Alice reached her hand out and grabbed the apple, closing the fridge door behind her.

“She picked me!” The apple exalted, followed quickly by a panicked, “she picked me!” as Alice took a big bite out of its smooth, red body.


FYI this was a BRUTAL exercise and I am not happy with how this turned out, at all. I may come back and re-do this one day.

Blessings,

C.

4 thoughts on “Writing 101, April 2015: Day 7

Leave a Reply

